New Swiss Federal Patent Court as of 1 January 2012


The Federal Patent Court Act will now fully enter into force as of 1 January 2012. The new Federal Patent Court will take up its duties at the beginning of 2012 and will be domiciled in St. Gallen.
As a national special court of first instance it will replace the at present 26 cantonal courts for litigation in patent matters. The new Federal Patent Court will be comprised of both legal as well as technically-trained judges.